top of page
Search
  • Mackenzie Anderson

Why Special Needs is Special to me


Sometimes God tugs on your heart and you just have to listen.


When the opportunity arose for me to work with special needs kids, I knew I needed to say yes, but I was afraid. I didn’t know how to act around these kids, or what to say to them, or if they could even talk. When you’re a senior at my high school you can be a teacher’s aid and I decided to do it for the Special Education PE class. When I walked to that class on the first day, my false idea of special needs kids completely changed. They don’t want to be treated any different and they don’t need to be treated any different. Some of them just learn different or look different- but don’t we all?


These kids have shown me what it looks like to love. They are called “special” for a reason. That word was never meant to have negative connotation. These kids have a special place in my heart and because of them, I have found my passion.


Sometimes, it is hard. Sometimes, it is draining, but I have never once left that class feeling unfulfilled. God put these kids in my life because he knew I needed them just as much as they needed me.


Through these kids, I also discovered YoungLife Capernaum. A safe place for them to worship God a few times a month. Getting to see my friends outside of school brings more Joy to my heart than anything else.


Jesus used me to show other people love, but he knew in the process that the love these kids have shown me would change my life forever.

2,318 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page